Hindu College Old Students’ Association Announces Distinguished Alumni Awards

Hindu College Old Students Association

The Old Students’ Association (OSA) of the prestigious Hindu College presented its Distinguished Alumni Awards at The Lalit Hotel in New Delhi today. The OSA Awards, presented every year since 2001, recognize the achievements and contributions made by Hindu college alumni in various fields, including media, films, sports, business and law. Mr. Yash Chopra, the legendary film personality, was the chief guest at the esteemed ceremony.

The event also witnessed the presence of the eminent lawyer Mr. Lalit Bhasin, who is the President of OSA, Dr. D.N. Gupta, Acting Principal, and Mr. K. C. Mehra, Chairman of the Events Committee of OSA.

Dr. B.M Bhatia and Prof. Bipin Chandra both received Lifetime Achievement Awards for their remarkable contribution in the fields of agriculture and education, respectively.

The award winners in different categories included:

  • Mr. Arjun Rampal, for his contribution as an actor to the film industry.
  • Ms. Loveleen Tandon, for her contribution as an excellent Casting Director and Co- Director of the Oscar winning film, ‘Slumdog Millionaire’.
  • Mr. Imtiaz Ali as the Young Achiever in films.
  • Ms. Tisca Chopra, for her work in films and television.
  • Mr. Jayant Kapoor, SAP developer for his achievements in business.
  • Hon’ble Mr. Justice G. S. Sistani, for his stellar role in India’s law and justice system.
  • Mr. Hardeep Puri and Ms. Asha Swarup, for their accomplishments in the Civil Services.
  • Mr. V.P Chaudhury, for his contribution in the area of Legal Services.
  • Mr. Vinod Rai, for his role in Constitutional law.
  • Mr. Sreenivasan Jain, for his contribution to media.
  • Mr. Saba Karim and Mr. Sunil Valson for their successes in sports.

Speaking ahead of the event, Mr Lalit Bhasin, President of OSA said: “Hindu College has always stood for the highest standards of education, development and values. We at the OSA aim to encourage talent across a number of areas crucial for the development of the society as a whole. The Alumni Awards are one of the steps in this direction and we heartily congratulate the winners for their remarkable contribution to their respective fields. We also wish them luck for all their future endeavors.”

Hindu College has contributed to the nation by producing luminaries in various fields. The college has produced academicians like Professor Sarup Singh, noted industrialists like K. K. Birla and Mr Modi, cinema personalities like Manoj Kumar, the famous singer Mukesh, Vishal Bhardwaj, and sportspersons like Ajay Jadeja, Saba Karim, Gautam Gambhir, Akash Chopra, Murali Karthik and Prakash Bhandari. Former Chief Justice of India Y. K. Sabharwal, Mr. B. P. Singh, Justice Mukul Mudgul, Justice R. Bhat, Justice G. S. Sistani, Justice Manmohan, Justice Siddharth Mridul and distinguished academicians like Dr. Kavita Sharma, Shri Zoravar Singh and late Shri Amba Prasad are also the college’s alumni. The alumni also include some of the leading lawyers in the country - Late Shri Tara Chand Mathur, Shri Dinesh Mathur, Shri Ranjit Kumar, Shri Lalit Bhasin, parliamentarians like Shri Subramaniam Swamy and journalists like Shri  H. K. Dua.

Established in 1899, Hindu College is one of the most distinguished post-graduate educational institutions in the country, with an outstanding record in teaching, research and public services. The Hindu College OSA is actively looking for opportunities to enhance facilities at this institution. The Association plans to establish a Braille library in the college and upgrade the college auditorium to meet world-class standards.

About Old Students’ Association (OSA)

The OSA was formed in 1959 and is celebrating its Golden Jubilee this year. Over the years, OSA has conducted several activities for the benefit of the college. In recent years, following the centenary of Hindu College, the OSA has made exemplary efforts to raise funds for the institution, including Distinguished Alumni Awards, Annual OSA Meets, and much more.

Contact Details: 

For further information, please contact:

Mr Lalit Bhasin
President, Hindu Alumni Association
Tel: +91 98101 81044

Amrita Thukral / S.M Atiqul Mobin
Comma Consulting
Tel: +91 9891171040 / +91 9891824279
Email: /

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.