BJP candidate wins Tripura's Badharghat bye-election

BJP candidate Mimi Majumder on Friday won the Badharghat Assembly bye-election in Tripura defeating her nearest CPI-M rival Bulti Biswas by a margin of 5,276 votes, election officials said.
According to the Election Commission officials, ruling Bharatiya Janata Party nominee Majumder secured 20,487 votes while her CPI-M-led Left Front rival and woman candidate Biswas got 15,211 votes.
Congress aspirant Ratan Chandra Das managed 9,105 votes while SUCI (C) contender Mridul Kanti Sarkar bagged only 470 votes. The officials said that 667 votes were cast in NOTA (None Of The Above) category.
The bye-election in Badharghat Assembly seat, reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates, was necessitated by the death of sitting BJP legislator Dilip Sarkar. Polling was held on September 23. According to EC documents, the vote share of ruling BJP compared to the last year's Assembly polls and Lok Sabha elections earlier this year, was reduced by a few thousand.
With the election of teacher-turned-politician Mimi Majumder, the number of women legislators in the 60-member House rose to four -- three of BJP and one of CPI-M.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.