Zakir Hussain, Sonal Mansingh, Jatin Goswami and K Kalyanasundaram Pillai elected Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellows

Zakir Hussain
Zakir Hussain
Tabla virtuoso Zakir Hussain, classical dancer Sonal Mansingh, Sattriya dance exponent and choreographer Jatin Goswami and dance guru K Kalyanasundaram Pillai have been honoured as Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellow (Akademi Ratna).
The Fellowship of the Akademi is the most prestigious and rare honour, restricted to 40 numbers at any given time. With the election of these four fellows, all the 40 positions have been filled, an official press release said here today.
They were elected unanimously by the General Council of the Akademi at its meeting in Guwahati on June 26.   
The Council also selected 44 artistes from the field of Music, Dance, Theatre, Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre, Puppetry and Overall contribution/scholarship in the Performing Arts for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the year 2018. They include three joint award winners.
The Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards will be conferred by the President of India at a special investiture ceremony.
In the field of Music, 11 eminent artistes -- Mani Prasad - Hindustani Vocal, Madhup Mudgal - Hindustani Vocal, Tarun Bhattacharya - Hindustani Instrumental - Santoor,  Tejendra Narayan Majumdar - Hindustani Instrumental - Sarod, Alamelu Mani - Carnatic Vocal, Malladi Suribabu – Carnatic Vocal, S.Kasim & S.Babu (Joint Award) - Carnatic Instrumental – Nagaswaram, Ganesh & Kumaresh (Joint Award) - Carnatic Instrumental –Violin, Suresh Wadkar- Other Major Traditions of Music - Sugam Sangeet, Shanti Hiranand - Other Major Traditions of Music - Sugam Sangeet, H.Ashangbi Devi - Other Major Traditions of Music – Nata Sankirtana, Manipur -- have been selected for the Akademi Awards 2018.
In the field of Dance, nine eminent artistes have been selected for the Akademi Awards 2018. They are: Radha Sridhar for Bharatanatyam, Ishira & Maulik Shah (joint award) for Kathak, Akham Lakshmi Devi for Manipuri, Pasumurthy Ramalinga Sastry for Kuchipudi, Surupa Sen for Odissi, Tankeswar Hazarika Borbayan for Sattriya, Gopika Varma for Mohiniattam, Tapan Kumar Pattanayak for Chhau, Deepak Mazumdar for Contemporary Dance.
In the field of Theatre, nine eminent artistes have been selected for the Akademi Awards 2018: Rajiv Naik for Playwriting, Laltluangliana Khiangte for Playwriting, Sanjay Upadhyay for Direction, S.Raghunandana for Direction, Suhas Joshi for Acting, Teekam Joshi for Acting, Swapan Nandy for Mime, Bhagawat A.S.Nanjappa – Other Major Traditions of Theatre – Yakshagana, A.M.Parameswaran Kuttan Chakkiyar – Other Major Traditions of Theatre – Kutiyattam.
In the field of Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre and Puppetry,  ten artistes have been selected for the Akademi Awards 2018. They are: Malini Awasthi, Folk Music, Uttar Pradesh, Gazi Khan Barna, Folk Music – Khartal, Rajasthan, Narender Singh Negi, Folk Song, Uttrakhand, Mohd. Sadiq Bhagat, Folk Theatre (Bhand Pather), J&K, Kota Sachidanand Shastry, Harikatha, Andhra Pradesh, Arjun Singh Dhruve, Folk Dance, Madhya Pradesh, Somnath Battu Folk Music, Himachal Pradesh, Anupama Hoskere, Puppetry (String), Karnataka, Hem Chandra Goswami, Mask Making, Assam.
Diwan Singh Bajeli and Puru Dadhich have been selected for the Akademi Award 2018 in the field of Overall Contribution/Scholarship in the Performing Arts.
The Akademi Awards have been conferred since 1952. These honours not only symbolize the highest standard of excellence and achievements but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution. The honour of Akademi Fellow carries purse money of Rs. 3,00,000 and Akademi Award carries Rs 1,00,000 besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.