Narendra Modi sworn in for second term as Prime Minister

President Ram Nath Kovind swearing in Prime Minister Narendra Modi for a second term in office at a ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on May 30, 2019.
President Ram Nath Kovind swearing in Prime Minister Narendra Modi for a second term in office at a ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on May 30, 2019.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi was sworn in for a second straight term in office at the head of a 58-member Council of Ministers at a ceremony in the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan here this evening.
Modi was administered the oaths of office and secrecy by President Ram Nath Kovind even as hundreds of supporters of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) cheered loudly.
Along with Modi, members of the new Council of Ministers were also sworn in, including Rajnath Singh and BJP President Amit Shah. 
Former Foreign Secretary Subrahmanyam Jaishankar is among the new Cabinet Ministers.
Apart from the Prime Minister, the Council has 34 Ministers of Cabinet rank, nine Ministers of State with independent charge and 24 Ministers of State.
Thousands of guests, including leaders of BIMSTEC member-countries, Kyrgyz Republic and Mauritius, were present on the occasion.
The invitees for the event included political leaders, including Congress President Rahul Gandhi, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Chief Ministers of States, leading industrialists, film stars, sportsmen, top officials, foreign diplomats and other dignitaries.
The Cabinet Ministers sworn in today include Nitin Gadkari, D V Sadananda Gowda, Nirmala Sitharaman, Ram Vilas Paswan, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank", Arjun Munda and Smriti Irani, who had defeated Congress President Rahul Gandhi in his family bastion of Amethi in the just-concluded Lok Sabha elections.
Other Ministers with Cabinet rank are Harsh Vardhan, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Pralhad Joshi, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Arvind Ganpat Sawant, Giriraj Singh and Gajendra Singh Shekhawat.
The Ministers of State with independent charge are Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Rao Inderjit Singh, Shripad Naik,  Jitendra Singh, Kiren Rijiju, Prahalad Singh Patel, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri and Mansukh L. Mandaviya.
The following are the Ministers of State: Faggan Singh Kulaste, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Arjun Ram Meghwal, General (Retd.) V. K. Singh,  Krishan Pal, Dadarao Danve, G. Kishan Reddy, Parshottam Rupala, Ramdas Athawale, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Babul Supriyo, Sanjeev Kumar Balyan, Sanjay Dhotre, Anurag Thakur, Suresh Angadi, Nityanand Rai, Rattan Lal Kataria, V. Muraleedharan, Renuka Singh Saruta, Som Parkash, Rameswar Teli, Pratap Chandra Sarangi, Kailash Choudhary and Debasree Chaudhuri.
The portfolios of the new Ministers are expected to be announced soon.
Those from the previous Modi government who do not figure in the new Council of Ministers include Arun Jaitley, who opted out for health reasons, Sushma Swaraj, Suresh Prabhu, Jayant Sinha, Maneka Gandhi,  Manoj Sinha, J P Nadda, Uma Bharti, Mahesh Sharma, Radha Mohan Singh, Ananth Kumar Hegde, Birender Singh, K J Alphons, Vijay Goel, Ram Kripal Yadav, Anant Geete, Anupriya Patel and Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore. Swaraj has also been suffering from ill-health for a long time and she did not contest the Lok Sabha elections this time.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.