Aabishek Mishra, France’s Adrian Metge in lead in Desert Storm

Chandigarh's Sunny Sidhu along with co-driver Ashwin Naik in action during Day 2 of the Desert Storm in Bikaner on May 9, 2019
Chandigarh's Sunny Sidhu along with co-driver Ashwin Naik in action during Day 2 of the Desert Storm in Bikaner on May 9, 2019
Defending champion Aabhishek Mishra rode the tough terrains and blazing conditions with ease to surge into the lead after SS4 on Day 2 of the Desert Storm in Bikaner on Thursday evening.
France’s Adrian Metge of TVS Racing was the unquestioned leader in the Moto Category, with a total time of 02:03:34 hours after SS 1 and 2 on Wednesday and SS4 on Thursday. Chasing him was India’s star biker CS Santosh of Hero Motosports (02:11:20) and Abdul Wahid Tanveer, also of TVS Racing.
As many as eight participants in the Moto and 4 in the Xtreme category bowed down before the fury of the desert, failing to complete the stages on Day One.  
Strong contender Sanjay Agarwal (co-driver Smitha N), in fact, saw his Maruti Vitara go up in flames not too far from the start, due to heating and electrical issues.
“This year the heat has been extreme but I enjoyed Day 1. Stage 1 was a little more challenging than 2 but both were equally fast. I had a couple of falls but it was all fun and thankfully no major injury,” said Aishwarya Pissay from Team TVS Racing, who is in the 23rd position in the Moto Category.
The 41-km SS 1 for Moto and Extreme categories started from Noorsar village in Bikaner district while the 46-km SS 2 took off from Rajasar village. The Extreme drivers even took part in the night stage, a 41-km stretch starting from Kelan village.
The Team Sparky’s Garage star, with Srikanth Gowda as co-driver, made the most of overnight leader Sunny Sidhu’s misfortune in the Extreme Category to wrest back the initiative with a total time of 03:22:46 hours after the morning stage.
Team Mahindra Adventure’s Sidhu (with Ashwin Naik) had looked in fine fettle on Day 1 but the heat got to him and his car, throwing him to the middle of the pack after SS4.
His teammate Gaurav Gill (and Musa Sherif), who was trailing in the fourth position after Day 1, however, made up for his struggles, making his move in the morning and jumping to the second position.
He recorded a remarkable timing of 01:10:11 in SS4 for a cumulative tally of 03:25:46, just three minutes off the leader. Samrat Yadav ((co-driver Kunal Kashyap) held on to his third position.
In the Ndure Category, Ankur Chauhan (co-driver Prakash M) was in the lead with a cumulative leg penalty of just 13 minutes 38 seconds after 8 sections. He was followed by Deepak Sachdeva (co-driver Japjyot Singh Dhingra) and Capt Abhilash Singh (co-driver Aashish Agarwal).

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.



Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.