Congress fields Scindia from Guna, Tewari from Anandpur Sahib

The Congress on Friday released a list of party candidates for Lok Sabha polls, fielding party general secretary Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna in Madhya Pradesh and former Union Minister Manish Tewari from Anandpur Sahib in Punjab.
The list has seven candidates, including Rigzin Spalbar from Ladakh in Jammu and Kashmir.
The party has fielded Shashwat Kedar from Valmiki Nagar in Bihar, Shailendra Patel from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh, Mona Sustani from Rajgarh in Madhya Pradesh and Kewal Singh Dhillon from Sangrur in Punjab. 
Scindia, who was the Deputy Leader of the party in the outgoing 16th Lok Sahba, also has an important role in Uttar Pradesh, where he is the General Secretary in-charge of the western part of the state. 
There was speculation that his wife could contest the polls, as he was busy in Uttar Pradesh. 
Tewari is also a Congress spokesperson and was earlier interested in contesting from Chandigarh where the party has fielded Pawan Kumar Bansal. 
Tewari had not contested the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. 

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.