Notification issued for 91 LS seats in first phase of polling on April 11

The Election Commission on Monday issued notification for the first phase of the seven-phased Lok Sabha elections, kicking off the process of filing of nominations for 91 constituencies across 20 states and Union Territories.
Voting for the first phase would take place on April 11, said the notification signed by President Ram Nath Kovind.
Nominations for this phase would be accepted till March 25 and scrutiny of the nomination papers would be on March 26, it said and added the last day for withdrawing nominations was March 28.
In the first phase, voting will take place in Andhra Pradesh (25 seats), Telangana (17), Uttarakhand (5), Arunachal Pradesh (2), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Sikkim (1), and the Union Territories of Andaman and Nicobar (1) and Lakshadweep (1), the notification said.
Eight contituencies (out of 80) in Uttar Pradesh, two (of 42) in West Bengal, four (of 40) in Bihar and two (of 6) in Jammu and Kashmir will also go to the polls in the first phase.
The electorate in five (of 14 constituencies) in Assam, one (of 11) in Chhattisgarh, seven (of 48) in Maharashtra, one (of two) in Manipur, four (of 21) in Odisha and one (of two) in Tripura would also cast their votes in this phase, the notification said.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.