Ajay Narayan Jha joins as Member, Finance Commission

Former Finance Secretary Ajay Narayan Jha joined the Fifteenth Finance Commission as its Member here on Friday.
He has replaced Shaktikanta Das, who had resigned as a Member of the Commission after being appointed as Governor, Reserve Bank of India.
Jha, a 1982 batch IAS officer of Manipur cadre, had earlier served as Secretary to the Fourteenth Finance Commission which was headed by former RBI Governor Y. V. Reddy.
The Fifteenth Finance Commission was constituted by a Presidential Order in November, 2017 under the Chairmanship of N. K. Singh to decide the formula for devolution of revenue between Centre and States, for a period of five years – April, 2020 to March, 2025.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.