Sushil Chandra takes over as new Election Commissioner

Sushil Chandra, former Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner here today.
He has joined Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner in the three-man Election Commission of India (ECI).
Born on May 15, 1957, Chandra was an officer of the 1980 batch of the Indian Revenue Service (IRS) and has served in various states like Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Delhi, Gujarat and Maharashtra.
Among other positions, he has served as Director of Investigation, Mumbai and Director General (Investigation), Gujarat. 

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.