Launch window for Chandrayaan-2 between Mar 25-Apr 30: ISRO chief

ISRO to launch Young Scientists program: ISRO chief
Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) Chairman K. Sivan today said the launch window for Chandrayaan-2, India's second lunar mission, is March 25-April 30 this year.
Addressing a press conference here, Dr. Sivan said  ISRO has planned 32 missions in all this year this year.
He said these include Gaganyaan project, India's first manned mission, reaching out to students, outreach programmes, planned missions of this year and Vikram Sarabhai Centenary celebrations.
On Gaganyaan, Dr. Sivan said the first unmanned space flight will be launched by December 2020, the second unmanned mission by July 2021 and the first manned mission by December 2021.
He said that a Human Space Flight Centre (HSFC) has been set up for Gaganyaan project. 
He also spoke about Reusable Launch Vehicle Technology which will be demonstrated this year where the helicopter will take the shuttle to a height from where it will be dropped and land automatically on runaway. This will help in saving the costs involved in launch vehicles, he added. 
He said that Small Satellite Launch Vehicle’s first flight will be in July 2019, which can carry payload upto 500 kg. 
Elaborating on the outreach programmes, Dr Sivan said that this year ISRO has initiated ‘Samvad with students’ programme where ISRO chairman meets the students during his outstation visits and addresses their queries and quenches their scientific thirst. The youth have boundless energy and endless curiosity, he added.
For the first time, ISRO has announced the ‘Young Scientists Programme’ to encourage the scientific talent and increase scientific pool in the country. Under this programme, Dr Sivan said, three students from each state and UT will be selected for ISRO programme for one month during which they will visit ISRO centres, interact with senior scientists and will have access to Research and Development facilities. 
All the expenses of travelling and boarding will be borne by ISRO. Dr Sivan appealed to the state governments and the state education departments for their active cooperation in making the programme a success.
ISRO Chairman said that six incubation centres will be established in various parts of the country - North, South, East, West, Centre and North-East. First such Centre has been established in Agartala. Dr Sivan also announced the establishment of six R&D centres. The students will be able to conduct R&D at these centres as well as incubation centres. He added that ISRO has inaugurated UNNATI programme yesterday the purpose of which is to train participants on nano satellite assembly.
ISRO Chairman said that nine student satellites have been launched by ISRO till date and KALAMSAT will be launched by PSLV-C44 on January 24.  He also spoke on other future projects including GSAT-20, RISAT and GMAT series of satellite.
The year-long centenary celebrations of Dr Vikram Sarabhai will commence from August 12, 2019. Various national and international events will be organised to honour the father of Indian Space prgoramme.
The Satish Dhawan Centre for Space Sciences was inaugurated in Jammu, he added.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.