National Selection Committee finalises names for Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019

The National Selection Committee under the chairpersonship of Women & Child Development (WCD) Minister Maneka Gandhi has finalized the names of awardees for Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019. 
The Government has been conferring the national award on children for their exceptional achievement in the fields of innovation, scholastic, sports, arts, culture, social service, music or any other field deserving recognition. Traditionally, these awards have been given away by the President.
Under this scheme, awards will be given in two categories, Bal Shakti Puruskar to individuals and Bal Kalyan Puraskar for institutions/individuals working for children.
The ministry has shortlisted 26 awardees including one joint award for National Child Award (now renamed as Bal Shakti Puraskar) under the category of innovation, scholastic, sports, arts & culture, social service and bravery.  
A total of 783 applications were received for the Baal Shakti Puruskar this year. The National Selection Committee also finalized the names of 2 individuals and 3 institutions under National Child Welfare Awards category (now renamed as Bal Kalyan Puraskar).
The Ministry had launched a portal ‘National Children Award’ for receiving online applications from across country throughout the year. The individuals could recommend meritorious children or individuals/institutions working for children or recommend their own case.
In past, the Bravery awards were organised by an NGO named ICCW. Recently, the financial integrity of ICCW was questioned by Delhi High Court during the hearings of a writ petition.
In view of this, the Government dissociated itself from ICCW and revamped the scheme of National Awards for children in 2018 to include bravery as an additional component in the Pradhan Mantri National Children Awards.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.