49th IFFI opening ceremony to showcase Indian film industry heritage

The gala opening ceremony of the 49th edition of the International Film Festival of India (IFFI) here on Tuesday will showcase the theme of New India through a variety of genres of cinema. 
The 90-minute programme will incorporate elements and narratives of the rich and diverse kaleidoscope of the Indian film heritage and industry.
It will also feature on-stage performances by mainstream Bollywood artistes – with Sonu Sood doing an action-packed set, Shilpa Rao, a romantic bit and dancers opening the ceremony with a mesmerising act.
The ceremony will be attended by Goa Governor Mridula Sinha, Union Minister of State for Information & Broadcasting Col. (Rtd.) Rajyavardhan Rathore, PWD Minister Sudin Madhav Dhavalikar and Film Certification Appellate Tribunal Chairperson Prasoon Joshi.
A host of celebrities will walk the red carpet, giving added colour to the ceremony. They include Akshay Kumar, Karan Johar, Julien Landais, Hrishita Bhatt, Madhur Bhandarkar, Subhash Ghai, Arijit Singh, Ramesh Sippy and Chin Han.
The ceremony at the Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Indoor Stadium will go live on DD National at 4.30 pm and will also be streamed live on the YouTube channel of PIB
The show will witness the launch of the Film Facilitation Office, an initiative by the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting.
Glimpses of the festival opening film "The Aspern Papers", which tells a story of obsession, grandeur lost and dreams of Byronic adventures will be screened. The film’s director Julien Landais will address the audience on the occasion.
Chairman, International Competition Jury and Polish director Robert Glinski will also share his thoughts. Other jury members -- Adrian Sitaru, Anna Ferraioli Ravel, Tom Fitz Patrick and Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra -- will also be present.
IFFI 2018 will have 26 feature and 21 non–feature Indian films selected by the Indian Panorama Jury to be screened as part of this section out of the hundreds of entries sent by filmmakers from various parts of the country. 
The feature film jury selected the film Olu directed by Shaji N Karun as the opening feature film of Indian Panorama 2018. The non-feature film jury selected the film Kharvas directed by Aditya Suhas Jambhale as the opening non-feature film of Indian Panorama 2018.
This edition of the festival will showcase 212 films from over 68 countries which reflect the diversity of taste. International Competition section has 15 films out of which three are Indian. The Competition section itself represents films produced and co-produced by 22 countries.
The Country of Focus will be Israel. Ten films, in collaboration with the Consulate General of Israel in Mumbai, have been selected for the country focus package. The opening film for the Country Focus Section is ‘The Other Story’ by Avi Nesher.
A State focus section has been proposed for the 49th IFFI, 2018. This section will focus on the films of one of the Indian States, thus shedding light on the art and culture of that particular state. 
Jharkhand has been selected as the State of Focus for 49th IFFI 2018 and Jharkhand Day will be celebrated on November 24, 2018, as part of the festival. Movies in the Jharkhand Package include Death in the Gunj, Ranchi Diaries, Begum Jaan with others.
The newly-introduced Sketch on Screen (Animation Film Package) section will screen around three international feature length films in collaboration with Indian studios.
Open air screenings have been organized during the festival where a large screen is put up in a vast open area. This year as an extension of the Khelo India Branding, Indian Sports Biopics will be screened at the 49th IFFI. The films included in the section are Gold, Mary Kom, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag, 1983, MSD: The untold story and Soorma.
The Masterclasses and In-conversation section will feature several renowned celebrities from the film industry including Prasoon Joshi, Dan Wolman, Sreekar Prasad, Anil Kapoor, Sumit Israni, Boney Kapoor, Arjun Kapoor, Jahnvi Kapoor, David Dhawan, Varun Dhawan, Rohit Dhawan, Jairaj, Kaushik Ganguly, Shaji Karun, Srijit Mukherjee, Sridhar and Sreeram Raghvan, Anupama Chopra, Rajiv Masand, Bhawana Somaaya, Jason Hafford, Meghna Gulzar, Leena Yadav and Gauri Shinde.
‘Homages’ section pays tribute to Indian film personalities who have passed away in recent months. This year, homage will be paid to Shashi Kapoor, Sridevi, M Karunanidhi and  Kalpana Lajmi. In the International Homages, tributes will be paid to Terence Marsh, Milos Forman, and Anne V Coates.
A Special Package for Visually Impaired Children will be organised with special screenings with audio description. The festival will showcase the movies ‘Sholay’ and ‘Hichki’ under this section. This year there will be a special presentation of Tunisian films.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.