West Indies opt to bat first in 2nd Test vs India

West Indies have won the toss and opted to bat first in the second and final Test against India at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium here on Friday.
Already 1-0 up in the two-match series after the innings and 272-run win in the first Test at Rajkot, India made one change to their playing XI by resting pacer Mohammed Shami and handing a debut to Shardul Thakur.
For the tourists, Jason Holder returned as captain in Keemo Paul's place while spinner Jomel Warrican came in for Sheman Lewis. However, Kemar Roach does not figure in the West Indies playing XI.
West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wk), Jason Holder (c), Devendra Bishoo, Jomel Warrican, Shannon Gabriel.
India: Prithvi Shaw, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.