TRS announces candidates for 105 Assembly seats

Hours after dissolution of the Telangana state Assembly on Thursday, the ruling TRS announced candidates for 105 constituencies.
Caretaker Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) President K. Chandrasekhar Rao released the list of candidates.
He announced the names at a news conference at TRS headquarters -- Telangana Bhavan. He said only two sitting candidates were denied tickets.
KCR, as Rao is popularly known, said candidates for the remaining 14 constituencies would be announced soon.
He was addressing the media a couple of hours after the cabinet meeting, which recommended dissolution of the Assembly to pave way for early polls. Governor E. S. L. Narasimhan accepted the recommendation.
KCR was confident that fresh elections to the state Assembly will be held in November. "There is no confusion over this," he said, adding that he has already spoken to the Chief Election Commissioner and requested him to hold the polls at the earliest.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.