Gopalkrishna Gandhi chosen for Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award

Gopalkrishna Gandhi
Gopalkrishna Gandhi
The Congress party has said that former West Bengal Governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi has been chosen for the 24th Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award for his contribution towards the promotion of communal harmony, peace and goodwill.
This was decided at a meeting of the Advisory Committee of the Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award held here on July 28, a press release from its Member Secretary and veteran Congress leader Motilal Vora said.
The Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award is given on the occasion of the birth anniversary of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. It was instituted to commemorate the lasting contribution made by him to promote peace, communal harmony and fight against violence. It carries a citation and cash award of Rs. 10 lakh.
Former recipients of the Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award include Mother Teresa, Ustad Bismillah Khan, Mohammed Yunus, Hiteswar Saikia & Subhadra Joshi (jointly), Lata Mangeshkar, Sunil Dutt, Jagan Nath Kaul, Dilip Kumar, Kapila Vatsyayan, Teesta Setalvad & Harsh Mander (jointly), S.N. Subbarao, Swami Agnivesh & Madari Moideen (jointly), K.R. Narayanan, Nirmala Deshpande, Hem Dutta, N. Radhakrishnan, Gautam Bhai, Maulana Wahiduddin Khan, SPIC MACAY, D.R. Mehta, Amjad Ali Khan, Muzaffar Ali and Shubha Mudgal.
This year's award will be presented to Mr. Gandhi at a special ceremony here on August 20, the release added.
Mr. Gandhi, 73, is the son of Devadas Gandhi, son of Mahatma Gandhi, and Lakshmi Gandhi. His maternal grandfather was C. Rajagopalachari, the last Governor General of India. 
A former officer of the 1968 batch of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) , he served as Secretary to the President of India and as High Commissioner to South Africa and Sri Lanka. He had also served as Secretary to Vice-President of India and as Ambassador to Norway and Iceland. He was appointed as Governor of West Bengal in 2004.
Mr. Gandhi has also served as Chairman of Kalakshetra Foundation, Chennai and as Chairman of the governing body of Indian Institute of Advanced Study. He has also been associated with the Ashoka University as a Professor of History and Politics.
In July 2017, he was chosen by the Congress and 17 other Opposition parties to be their joint candidate for the post of Vice-President. The August 5, 2017 election was won by Mr. M. Venkaiah Naidu, the candidate of the ruling BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.