Vinod Khanna named for Phalke Award, Sridevi chosen Best Actress in National Film Awards

Vinod Khanna
Vinod Khanna
Late actor and politician Vinod Khanna has been chosen for the prestigious Dadasaheb  Phalke Award  -- the top honour in Indian cinema as part of the National Film Awards for 2017 announced here today, which saw the Assamese movie "Village Rockstars", directed by Rima Das, bag the Best Feature Film Award.
Khanna, who had a huge fan following for his many tough-guy roles on screen as well as for his looks and who was an active politician and had served as a Union Minister, died in Mumbai on April 27 last year after losing a long battle with cancer at the age of 70. He was chosen for the award for his contribution to cinema.
Malayalam filmmaker Jayaraj was chosen for the Best Direction award for Bhayanakam. Riddhi Sen got the Best Actor award for his role in Nagarkirtan in Bengali while Bollyood star Sridevi, who died recently in Dubai, was given the Best Actress award for her role in the Hindi movie Mom.
The Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director went to Sinjar in Jasari language. The film was produced by Shib G Suseelan and directed by Pampally.
Telugu hit Baahubali - The Conclusion got the award for the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment while Dhappa in Marathi got the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration.
Aalorukkam in Malayalam, directed by V C Abhilash, got the award for the Best Film on Social Issues, while Hindi film Irada, directed by Aparnaa Singh was chosen as the Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation. 
Marathi movie Mhorkya, directed by Amar Bharat Deokar, was chosen as the Best Children's Film.
Popular Malayalam star Fahad Fazil was chosen as the Best Supporting Actor for his role in Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum.
Divya Dutt got the award for Best Supporting Actress for her role in Hindi film Irada, while Bhanita Das was chosen Best Child Artiste for Village Rockstars.
File photo of Sridevi
File photo of Sridevi
Renowned singer K J Yesudas for the award for the Best Male Playback Singer for the song Poy Maranja Kalam Viswasapoorvam Mansoor in Malayalam, while Shashaa Tirupati won the Best Female Playback Singer award for the song Vaan in Tamil film Kaatru Veliyidai.
Bhayanakam also got the Best Cinematography award for cameraman Nikhil S. Praveen.
Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum fetched Sajeev Pazhoor the Best Screenplay (original) award, while Jayaraj got the Best Screenplay (adapted) award for Bhayanakam. Sambit Mohanty got the award for Best Screenplay (Dialogues) for Hello Arsi in Odia.
The Best Hindi Film award went to Newton,while Thundimuthalum Driksakshiyum, directed by Dileesh Pothan, won the award for Best Malayalam Film.
The awards were announced by the chairpersons of the juries on Feature Films, Best Writing on Cinema and members of Dadasaheb Phalke Award and Non-Feature films. 
The Feature Film Central panel was headed filmmaker Shekhar Kapur, while the Non-Feature Film panel was headed by Mr. Nakul Kamte. The panel on Best Writing on Cinema was headed by Mr. Anant Vijay. They had submitted their report to Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Smriti Irani here yesterday.
The awards will be presented by the President of India at a ceremony here on May 3.
The full list of awardees can be seen here.
Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.