Rupani sworn in for second term as Gujarat CM, Patel continues as Deputy CM

Vijay Rupani takes oath as Gujarat CM
Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Vijay Rupani was today sworn in as the Chief Minister of Gujarat for a second consecutive term after his party was returned to power in the recent elections to the state legislative assembly, though with reduced numbers.
Mr. Rupani was administered the oaths of office and secrecy by Governor O. P. Kohli at a ceremony here.
Mr. Nitin Patel, who was Deputy Chief Minister in the previous Rupani Cabinet, was the next to take oath and he will hold the same position.
Along with them, 18 other Ministers -- eight of Cabinet rank and ten Ministers of State -- were also sworn in today.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, Union Ministers, Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled States, former Deputy Prime Minister Lal Krishna Advani, former Gujarat Chief Ministers Keshubhai Patel, Shankarsinh Vaghela and Anandiben Patel and other dignitaries were present on the occasion.
Mr. Rupani, 61, and Mr. Nitin Patel, also 61, were elected as the leader and deputy leader of the BJP Legislature Party at a meeting in Ahmedabad on December 22.
In the two-phase polling held on December 9 and 14, the BJP retained power for the sixth consecutive time, winning 99 seats in the 182-member legislative assembly. This was lower than the 115 it had won in the 2012 Assembly elections. The party has since also received support from one independent MLA, Ratansinh Rathod.
The opposition Congress won 77 seats, a significant improvement from its 2012 tally of 61.
Mr. Rupani became the Chief Minister of Gujarat for the first time on August 7, 2016 after the resignation of Ms. Anandiben Patel, who had succeeded Mr. Narendra Modi in 2014 after he became the Prime Minister and moved to Delhi. 
He was until then the Minister for Transport, Water Supply, Labour and Employment in the Anandiben Patel government.
Mr. Patel, who was widely tipped to be chosen as the successor to Ms. Anandiben Patel, served as Deputy Chief Minister in Mr. Rupani's Cabinet.
Mr. Rupani is a prominent Jain leader and is considered to be close to both Mr. Modi and Mr. Shah. He was re-elected from the Rajkot West constituency in the recent elections.
Born on August 2, 1956, in Yangon, Myanmar (then Burma), Mr. Rupani started his political career as a student activist and later joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and the Jana Sangh, the precursor of the BJP, in 1971.
He has served as a municipal corporator in Rajkot and as mayor of the city. He also served one term as member of the Rajya Sabha from 2006 to 2012. He was elected to Gujarat Assembly in August 2014 in a bye-election. He was inducted as a Minister by Ms. Patel when she expanded her Cabinet.
Mr. Rupani has a B.A. and an LL. B. from the Saurashtra University.
Mr. Patel, who was involved with his family business for some time, was first elected to the Gujarat Legislative Assembly in 1990 and has handled various portfolios, including Finance, Urban Development, Urban Housing, Roads and Buildings, Narmada and Petrochemicals, as a Minister since 1995-96. 
Earlier, he served as a member of the Kadi Municipality for 15 years and as its  president during 1988-90. He was president of Mehsana district BJP during 1997-98. He was re-elected to the legislative assembly from Mehsana in the recent elections.

Did you like this story? Make a donation and help us to serve you better.



Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.