M. Venkaiah Naidu is NDA's Vice-Presidential candidate, has numbers on his side

M. Venkaiah Naidu
M. Venkaiah Naidu
Union Urban Development Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu was today named as the nominee ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) for the post of Vice-President of India.
The announcement was made by BJP President Amit Shah at a press conference here today after a meeting of the BJP's Parliamentary Board and after consultations with its allies in the NDA.
Mr. Shah said Mr. Naidu, 68, was among the seniormost political leaders in the country, who began as a student leader and made his way through the ranks to the top of the BJP leadership. He had served as the President of the BJP from July 2002 to October 2004.
Mr. Naidu will face former West Bengal Governor and Mahatma Gandhi's grandson Gopalkrishna Gandhi, the joint candidate of 18 Opposition parties led by the Congress, in the Vice-Presidential election slated for August 5 to elect a successor to Mr. Mohammed Hamid Ansari, 80, whose second five-year term will end on August 10.
Given the combined strength of the BJP and its allies in both Houses of Parliament, Mr. Naidu's election to the august office is more or less a foregone conclusion.
Mr. Naidu will file his nomination papers for the election tomorrow, the last date for making nominations. Scrutiny of nominations will be held on July 19 and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures is July 21.
Polling, if necessary, will be held on August 5, between 10 am and 5 pm, and counting of votes, if required, would be taken up on the same day.
The Vice-President is elected by the members of the Electoral College consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The nominated Members of Rajya Sabha  as well as  of Lok Sabha are also eligible to be included in the Electoral College and, therefore, are entitled to participate in the election.
In the coming election, the electoral college would consist of 233 elected and 12 nominated members of the Rajya Sabha and 543 elected members and 2 nominated members of the Lok Sabha, adding up to a total of 790.
The Election Commission of India has appointed the Secretary-General of the Rajya Sabha as the Returning Officer for the election. The Commission has also decided to appoint Assistant Returning Officers from amongst the officers of the Rajya Sabha Secretariat to assist the Returning Officer.
Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu was born on July 1, 1949 at Chavatapalem in Nellore district of Andhra Pradesh. He has a B. A. degree from V. R. College, Nellore and a B. L. from the Law College, Andhra University at Visakhapatnam.
Plunging into student politics in 1971, Mr. Naidu was also associated with the Jayaprakash Narayan movement in 1974. He became the president of the youth wing of the Janata Party in Andhra Pradesh in 1977-80 and was elected for the first time as a member of the Legislative Assembly in Andhra Pradesh in 1978 and re-elected in 1983.
He served as president of the Andhra Pradesh unit of the BJP in 1988-93 and as General Secretary of the BJP in 1993-2000. He was elected to the Rajya Sabha in April 1998 from Karnataka. 
Mr. Naidu served as Minister of Rural Development from September 2000 to June 2002 in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government before becoming president of the party in July 2002.
He was re-elected to the Rajya Sabha for a second term from Karnataka in June 2004 and for a third term in June 2010.
He was appointed Minister for Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs in the Narendra Modi government from May 26, 2014. In June last year, he was re-elected to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan for his fourth term. He is currently Minister for Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation, and Information and Broadcasting.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.