National Awards: Kasaav is Best Film, Akshay Kumar, Surabi chosen Best Actors

Akshay Kumar in a still from Rustom
Akshay Kumar in a still from Rustom
Marathi movie Kasaav has been chosen as the Best Feature Film while Bollywood star Akshay Kumar has won the Best Actor award for his role in Rustom and Surabhi the Best Actress award for her role in Malayalam film Minnaminungu – the Firefly in the 64th National Film Awards 2016 announced here today.
Kasaav, directed by Sumitra Bhave and Sunil Sukthankar and produced by them along with Mohan Agashe, was chosen for its perfect blending of an environmental behaviour and a personal one in a poignantly beautiful cinematic way. 
Akshay Kumar was chosen for his "perfect portrayal of a character caught in personal and social turmoil" while Surabhi got the award for her brilliance in portraying pain and ecstasy of a mother in a deplorable social condition.
Rajesh Mapuskar was given the Best Direction award for Marathi movie Ventilator.
The awards were announced by the chairpersons of the juries for Feature Films, Non-Feature Films, Best Writing on Cinema and Most Film Friendly State Award. 
The Feature Film Central panel was headed by well-known Malayalam filmmaker Priyadarshan, while the Non-Feature Film Jury was headed by Mr. Raju Mishra and the Writing Jury by Ms. Bhawana Somaaya. The Most Film Friendly State award, which was introduced as a new category, was announced by Mr. Radha Krishna Jagarlamudi, a popular director in Telugu film industry. 
The National Film Awards will be presented by President Pranab Mukherjee at a function here on May 3.
Fireflies in the Abyss won the Best Film awrd in the Non-Feature Films category. Actress Sonam Kapoor got a Special Mention in the Feature Films category for her role in the movie Neerja.
The Best Film Critic award was given to G. Dhananjayan for his in-depth analysis on a wide range of topics such as film genres, brands, new strategies in movie watching, taxation impact and ticket pricing. 
Surabhi in a still form Minnaminungu The Firefly
Surabhi in a still form Minnaminungu The Firefly
Special Mention Award was given to the K.P. Jayashankar and Anjali Monteiro for the book ‘A fly in the Curry’. Best Book on Cinema award was given to ‘Lata- Sur Gatha’ authored by Yatindra Mishra.
Special Jury Award in the Feature category was given to Malayalam superstar Mohan Lal for his mastery in dealing with characters of various shades with unparallel acting brilliance. Special Jury Award in the Non-Feature category was given to ‘The Cinema Travellers’. 
This year, a new category ‘Best on-location Sound Recordist’ in the Non-Feature Film section was also introduced.
Uttar Pradesh was awarded the Most Film Friendly State award for implementing a unique film policy. The State’s Film Policy included various measures to create a suitable environment, which not only invited shooting of films on a large scale in the State but also promoted other activities related to various aspects of film production including financial incentives for filmmakers.
Jharkhand was given Special Mention Award for its Film Policy which provided growth opportunities to the local filmmaking talent from within the State.
The complete list of the award winners can be seen here.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.