Delhi to go to polls on Saturday to elect new legislative assembly

Polling will be held here tomorrow to elect a new legislative assembly in the National Capital Territory of Delhi, which has been under President's Rule since February 14 last year after Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal resigned as Chief Minister after just 49 days in office.
Polling will be held from 8 am to 6 pm in all 70 constituencies. Counting of votes will be taken up on February 10 and all the results are expected to be available by that evening.
The last day of campaigning yesterday was marked by road shows by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Chief Ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi, the former Indian Police Service (IPS) officer who is making her political debut, and Mr Kejriwal, who is hoping the electorate will give him another chance.
BJP President Amit Shah and Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi also made a final effort yesterday to win votes for their party's candidates. The Congress campaign, led by Ajay Maken, is based on the party's performance during the 15 years it ruled Delhi before the December 4, 2013 elections.
Delhi has a total of 1,33,14,215 electors, including 73, 89,089 men and 59,19,127 women. Of these, 1,46,114 men and 81,202 women are in the 18-19 age group.
There are a total of 673 candidates, including 63 women, in the fray in the 70 consituencies.
The Election Commission has deployed more than 65,700 polling personnel to ensure the smooth conduct of the polls. There are about 12,000 polling stations.
AAP had won 28 of the 70 seats in the Delhi Legislative Assembly in the last elections held on December 4, 2013. It was invited to form the new government after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which had emerged as the single largest party with 31 seats, declined to do so.
Both parties were short of the 36 seats needed for a simple majority in the Assembly, but the Congress, which was reduced to just eight seats after ruling Delhi for 15 years, decided to support the AAP government from outside.
Mr Kejriwal, with an eye on the Lok Sabha elections which were then a few weeks away, decided to quit after he failed in his efforts to introduce the Jan Lokpal Bill for an anti-corruption ombudsman – his party’s main election promise -- in the Legislative Assembly.
In the months that followed, Delhi Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung made some efforts to explore the possibility of a stable government being formed but all the main parties conveyed to them that they did not have the numbers to do so.
In the Lok Sabha elections held on April 10, 2014 in Delhi, the BJP won all seven seats in the national capital.

See News Videos



Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.