ISL: Atlético de Kolkata beat Goa in penalty shootout to enter final

Atlético de Kolkata players celebrate their passage to the final of the Hero Indian Super League after defeating FC Goa in the second leg of the second semi-final at Fatorda in Goa on December 17, 2014. Photo Courtesy: ISL
Atlético de Kolkata players celebrate their passage to the final of the Hero Indian Super League after defeating FC Goa in the second leg of the second semi-final at Fatorda in Goa on December 17, 2014. Photo Courtesy: ISL
Atletico de Kolkata held their nerve to defeat FC Goa 4-2 in tie-breaker at the end of a game which ended 0-0 at full time and also extra time in the second leg of the second semi-final of the Hero Indian Super League at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium at Fatorda tonight.
The two teams had been locked in a goalless draw in the first leg of the semi-final at Kolkata on December 14.
After the incident-packed, exhilarating first semi-final, which saw Kerala Blasters move into the final with a late winner against FC Chennaiyin in the second leg at Chennai last night, today's dramatic ending with the first penalty shootout of the tournament was only fitting.
Atletico de Kolkata will now meet Kerala Blasters in a final that promises to be a cracking affair on December 20 at the D Y Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.
Josemi, Mohammed Rafi, Jofre and Borja Fernández all successfully converted their spot kicks for the visitors while only Tolgay Ozbey and Clifford Miranda bulged the net for the hosts, with André Santos firing wide and Zohib Amiri hitting the crossbar.
Both teams started cautiously, aware of the high stakes of this game. Kolkata were happy to sit back and soak up the pressure as Goa looked to use their wingers to good effect. 
Goa captain Grégory Arnolin came closest to scoring for the hosts in the 20th minute as Miroslav Slepi?ka found the Frenchman’s head from a shot at goal, with only a reflex save from Kolkata keeper Apoula Edel Bete denying Goa the lead. 
Edel did seem to suffer a strain as the half wore on, with Josemi taking up the duties of taking goal kicks. Goa had to make an early substitution too, with Sheikh Jewel Raja coming on for Peter Carvalho, who was labouring with a strain.
The second half began with Goa on the front foot, with Romeo Fernandes driving forward from the kick-off itself and letting loose with a shot from just outside the box. Kolkata’s defence continued to soak up the pressure, standing firm against Goa’s constant attacks. Santos had a penalty shout denied and then Edel came up with a stunning save to keep out the Brazilian’s shot soon after.
Chances were few and far between after that, however, with the pattern of the game remaining the same – Goa dominating possession and putting plenty of attacking pressure, but not quite unlocking Kolkata’s defence.  Ultimately, however, neither side could break the deadlock. The second semi-final, just like the first, was headed into extra time.
Kolkata were the more enterprising in the first half of extra time, putting the Goa back line under sustained pressure for the first time. At the other end, Goa nearly went ahead, but Mandar Rao Desai’s low shot was too close to Edel.
Santos took the responsibility of taking the first penalty for Goa but booted it high over the bar. Kolkata defender Josemi made sure his side took immediate advantage. Özbey and local legend Miranda converted their efforts, but Amiri missed in between.
Mohammed Rafi and Jofre’s successful penalties for Kolkata left Spanish midfielder Borja with the task of putting his side through to the final. He made no mistake, beating Goa keeper Jan Šeda with a superb shot into the roof of the net.   
Match awards:
Hero of the match: André Santos (FC Goa)
Swift Moment of the Match: Apoula Edel Bete (Atlético de Kolkata)
Amul Fittest Player of the Match: Romeo Fernandes (FC Goa)
ISL Emerging Player of the Match: Mandar Rao Desai (FC Goa)

See News Videos


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.