President confers Padma Awards on 54 personalities

President Pranab Mukherjee presenting the Padma Vibhushan to Prof. Yash Pal at the Investiture Ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on April 5, 2013.
President Pranab Mukherjee presenting the Padma Vibhushan to Prof. Yash Pal at the Investiture Ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on April 5, 2013.

President Pranab Mukherjee presented the Padma Vibhushan, India's second highest civilian honour, to noted sculptor and architect Raghunath Mohapatra and well-known scientist Yash Pal at a civil investiture ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan today.

Mr Mukherjee also conferred the Padma Bhushan on ten people and Padma Shri on 42 people at the ceremony.
In all, 108 people were chosen for the Padma awards this year, including four for Padma Vibhushan, 24 for Padma Bhushan and 80 for Padma Shri. The remaining awards will be presented at a second investiture ceremony later this year.
Vice-President M Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, several Union Ministers and other dignitaries were present at today's ceremony.
Those who received the Padma Bhushan today were cricketer Rahul Dravid, conservationist Hemendra Singh Panwar, senior Maharashtra Congress leader Shivajirao Girdhar Patil, filmmaker D Ramanaidu, Mohiniattam exponent Kanak Rele, DRDO chief Vijay Kumar Saraswat, scientist Ashoke Sen, literary theorist and philospher Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, actress Sharmila Tagore and industrialist Ramamurthy Thyagarajan.
The 42 people on whom the Padma Shri was conferred are: Prof Anvita Abbi, Prof Dr Mohammad Sharfe Alam, Mr Gajam Anjaiah, Prof Rajendra Achyut Badwe, Dr Hemendra Prasad Barooah, Mr Pablo Bartholomew, Swami G c D Bharti, Dr Ravindra Singh Bisht, Mr Avinash Chander, Dr Taraprasad Das, Prof Trichur Viswanathan Devarajan, Prof Sanjay Govind Dhande, Prof Saroj Chooramani Gopal, Ms B Jayashree, Ms Sridevi Kapoor, Dr Ramakrishan (Posthumous), Mr Salik Lakhnawi (Posthumous), Mr S Lakshminarayana, Ms Vandana Luthra, Mr S K M Maelanandan, Mr Kailash Chandra Meher, Ms Neelima Chandrashekhar Mishra, Mr P Madhavan Nair (Madhu), Prof Sankar Kumar Pal, Mr Brahmdeo Ram Pandit, Ms Rajshree Pathy, Dr Deepak Bhaskar Phatak, Dr Mudundi Ramakrishna Raju, Dr C Venkata S Ram, Ms Manju Bharat Ram (Posthumous), Mr R Nageswara Rao, Mr Surender Sharma, Ms Jaymala Jayram Shiledar, Dr Rama Kant Shukla, Mr Ngangom Dingko Singh, Prof Ajay Kumar Sood, Mr Bajrang Lal Takhar, Pandit Suresh Talwalkar, Mr Rajendar Kumar Tiku and Prof Akhtarul Wasey.
The Padma awards are given for achievement in various disciplines and fields of actiities such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature, education, sports, civil service, and so on.
The ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

Related Stories


See News Videos


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.