Sehwag dropped, no replacement named in team for 3rd, 4th Tests

File photo of Virender Sehwag
File photo of Virender Sehwag

Opener Virender Sehwag, who has been struggling to get among the runs, was today dropped from the Indian team for the final two Tests of the four-match series against Australia.

The senior selection committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which met here today, did not name any replacement for Sehwag, retaining the rest of the team that played the first two Tests at Chennai and Hyderabad, both of which India won.
This means that either Shikhar Dhawan or Ajinkya Rahane will open the innings with Murali Vijay, who scored a superb century at Hyderabad.
Sehwag, 34, last scored a century against England in Ahmedabad last year and since then has managed scores of just 25, 30, 9, 23, 49, 0, 2, 19 and 6 -- the last three against Australia in the current series.
The selectors are obviously trying to settle on a reliable opening pair ahead of the crucial tour of South Africa later this year. Sehwag's famed partner Gautam Gambhir has already been dropped from the side because of poor form.
India's openers, Vijay and Sehwag, could put on only 11, 16 and 17 runs for the first wicket in the three innings against Australia so far, though Vijay did strike a century in the last Test at Hyderabad. Sehwag, on the other hand, has made only 27 in his three outings against Austrlia in this series.
The swashbuckling right-hander made 253 runs in seven innings during the home series against England last year, which included 117 in Ahmedabad. In the two home Tests against New Zealand, he failed to come up with even a half-century. On India's last foreign tour to Australia, he made a total of 198 runs in eight innings.
The following is the team:
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wicket-keeper), Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Dinda, Shikhar Dhawan and Ishant Sharma
The third Test will be played at Mohali from March 14-18 and the fourth Test in Delhi from March 22 to 26.

See News Videos



Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.