Bye-election to Jamshedpur LS seat to be held on Friday

Polling for the bye-election to the Jamshedpur Lok Sabha seat will be held tomorrow under tight security arrangements.

The seat fell vacant due to the resignation of Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda after he won the Kharsawan assembly seat recently.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Sudhir Mahto, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) nominee Dineshanand Goswami, Congress candidate Banna Gupta and Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Suman Mahto, All Jharkhand Students' Union (AJSU) nominee Astik Mahto and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) candidate Ajay Kumar are among those in the fray for the seat.

In all, 20 candidates are fighting for the seat. Counting of votes will take place on July 4.

Jamshedpur DC and Returning Officer Himani Pandey said a total electorate of 1,39,7879, including 6,61,610 women, are eligible to vote in the constituency. Voting will start from 0700 hrs in the morning and end at 1500 hrs.


© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.