Chennai Super Kings beat Royal Challengers by 21 runs

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 21 runs to post their second win in three matches in the fourth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty-20 tournament at the packed M A Chidambaram Stadium here this evening.

Batting first, CSK made 183 off their 20 overs and then restricted RCB to 162 for seven in their stipulated 20 overs.

CSK had won the inaugural match of the tournament by 2 runs against Kolkata Knight Riders, while RCB have suffered three losses in four outings, having registered their lone win agains Kochi Tuskers.

For CSK, Mike Hussey remained not out with 83 while his opening partner M Vijay made 31, Suresh Raina 29 and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni 22.

Van der Wath took two wickets for 49 and R Ninan two for 31, while Zaheer Khan got one for 33.

For RCB, A B deVilliers tried to make a fight of it with a superb 65 and Virat Kohli chipped in with 35. But none of the other batsmen impressed today.

For the Super Kings, the two pace bowlers A Morkel 2-34, Tim Southee 1-32, Lankan off spinner Suraj Randiv 2-26, local lad R Ashwin 1-23 and left arm spinner Sadab Jagati 1-36 shackled the Bangalore batsmen.


© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.