Hockey: Halappa to spearhead India's challenge in Azlan Shah tourney


Veteran forward Arjun Halappa will lead India in next month's Sultan Azlan Shah Cup hockey tournament in Malaysia, Hockey India (HI) said today.

Halappa will replace Rajpal Singh, who led India in last year's World Cup, the Commonwealth Games and the Asian Games.

"Arjun Halappa has been appointed captain of the Indian team for the Azlan Shah Cup," HI secretary general Narinder Batra told UNI by telephone.

Drag-flicker Sandeep Singh and Sardara Singh, however, failed to secure a berth in the list of 45 probables. "Sandeep and Sardara were ignored for the tournament as they failed to report for the national camp that started on March 15," he added.

HI conducted the selection trials on April 4 and 5 on the conclusion of the first phase of the training camp at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium here to shortlist the probables for the championship to be played from May 5 to 15 at Ipoh.

HI selectors Col Balbir Singh, B P Govinda, Syed Ali, Thoiba Singh and A B Subbaiah besides government observers Harbinder and Dilip Tirkey selected the 45 probables for the next month's event.

The final trials to choose the 18-member team for the tournament will be held on April 18-19 here.

India have won the Azlan Shah Cup five times. They were declared joint winners with South Korea last year when the final was abandoned due to rain.

The seven-nation tournament will feature world champions Australia, Great Britain, South Korea, New Zealand, Pakistan, India and hosts Malaysia.

The following is the list of probables:


Bharat Kumar Chetri - Canara Bank

Adrian D'Souza - Air India

PR Sreejesh - Indian Overseas Bank

Gurpreet Singh - Air India

P Naveen Kumar - Tamilnadu


Diwakar Ram - ONGC

Dhananjay Mahadik - Services

Rupinderpal Singh - Indian Overseas Bank

William Xalxo - Bharat Petroleum

V Raghunath - Indian Oil

Amit Prabhakar - Uttar Pradesh

Gurjinder Singh - Chandigarh

Sunil Yadav - Uttar Pradesh


Gurbaj Singh - Air India

Vikram Pillay - Air India

Ravi Pal - Bharat Petroleum

Vikas Pillay - Air India

Varinderjit Singh - Border Security Force

Birendra Lakra (Jr.) - Bharat Petroleum

V S Vinaya - Air India

Preetinder Singh - ONGC

Vikram Kant - Indian Oil

Ajitesh Roy - Punjab National Bank

Vikas Sharma - Indian Oil

Kothajit Singh - Indian Oil

Amardeep Ekka - Indian Overseas Bank

Rajesh Kumar - Services

Vikas Choudhary - ONGC


Tushar Khandker - Bharat Petroleum

Shivendra Singh - Air India

Rajpal Singh - Indian Oil

Arjun Halappa - Air India

Roshan Minz - Indian Oil

Gurwinder Singh Chandi - ONGC

Mohd Amir Khan - Air India

S V Sunil - Services

Mandeep Antil - ONGC

Danish Mujtaba - UP

Sarvanjeet Singh - Punjab & Sind Bank

Prabhdeep Singh - Chandigarh

Shashi Topno - Railways

Chinglensana - Railways

Hari Prasad - Bharat Petroleum

Bikas Toppo - ONGC

S Arumugam - Services


© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.