India beat Aussies by 38 runs in World Cup warm-up match

India's Virendra Sehwag rasing his bat after scoring 50 during the warm-up match between India and Australia at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on February 13, 2011.
India's Virendra Sehwag rasing his bat after scoring 50 during the warm-up match between India and Australia at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on February 13, 2011.

Indian spinners created magic at the M Chinnaswamy stadium to earn a creditable 38-run victory over Australia in a World Cup warm-up match here tonight.

The Aussies appeared to be cruising towards a comfortable victory when a devastating spell of four for nine runs in five overs by Piyush Chawla and ably supported by Harbhajan Singh (3/15) enabled India to earn a win with 12.1 overs to spare.

Set to score 215 for a win, the Australians were all out for 176 giving the home team a 38-run victory.

Skipper Ricky Ponting (57) remained the lone crusader for Australia which had a rollicking start with openers Shane Watson (33) and Tim Paine (37) putting up a 51 run-partnership in 7.5 overs for the first wicket.

The team was 138 for four before the parade began and Indians ultimately emerged victorious.

Earlier, opting to bat first, India made a fighting score of 214 in 44.3 overs, thanks mainly to Yusuf Pathan (32) and R Ashwin (25 not out), who put on 49 runs for the ninth wicket after the side was reduced to 138 for eight in 29.5 overs.

Dashing opener Virender Shewag made a valiant 54 in 56 deliveries and was involved in two useful partnerships adding 42 runs with Virat Kohli (21) for the second wicket and 38 runs for the fourth wicket with skipper M S Dhoni (11).

The Aussie seamers, though fearsome in their attack, had conceded as many as 25 wides. Brett Lee was the most successful Australian bowler, claiming three wickets for 35 runs in his 10 overs.

Chasing a comfortable 215 for a win, Aussies appeared to be in a hurry as both the openers Shane Watson and Tim Paine plundered the Indian medium pacers at will.

Watson opened his blades with a twin boundary off the very first over of Ashish Nehra. The opening pair added 50 runs in 7.2 overs, piling up runs at a brisk pace, before Watson was brilliantly caught at mid-off by Chawla, who moved to his left to dismiss the Aussie batsman who attempted to clear the fielder in vain.

Watson had hit seven boundaries in his 33, which came off 26 deliveries. The first ten overs yielded 67 runs for one wicket for the Aussies.

Australia lost two quick wickets. Opener Tim Payne, after a valuable 37, was brilliantly caught by Munaf Patel off Yuvraj Singh, when the side's total was 118. Two runs later, India got another breakthrough with Chawla bowling out Australian vice-captain Michael Clarke before he could open his tally.

The match suddenly appeared to have swung the Indian way as the Aussies lost two more wickets with the side total at 138.

Cameron White ballooned a simple catch to R Ashwin off Piyush Chawla, when he had made only four and in his very next ball had David Hussey stumped by Dhoni without opening his score.

The Aussies survived another chance when Callum Fergusun was dropped in the slips by Kohli off Ashwin. But the batsman did not lost long as Kolhi made no mistake in lapping up a simple catch off Chawla as Aussies were reduced to 148 for six.

Chawla had a fine second spell of five overs in which he claimed four wickets giving away only nine runs.

Skipper Ponting, watching the Aussie parade back to the pavilion, was himself out when he was stumped by Dhoni off Harbhajan with the side total at 166 with the team 49 runs short of victory.



Gautam Ghambir c Cameron White b Doug Dollinger 06

Virender Shewag b Jason Krejza 54

Virat Kohli C David Hussey b John Hastings 19

Yuvraj Singh C Tim Paine b Johnson Mitchell 01

M S Dhoni b John hastings 11

Suresh Raina c Tim Paine b Brett Lee 12

Yusuf Pathan c Jason Krejza b David Hussey 32

Harbhajan Singh b Brett Lee 04

Piyush Chawla b brett Lee 0

R Ashwin (not out) 25

Ashish Nehra c Jason Krejza b David Hussey 19

Extras (lb3,nb1,w25) 29

Total all out in 44.3 overs 214

Fall of wickets 1/12, 2/54, 3/63 4/101, 5/113, 6/132, 7/136, 8/136, 9/187


Brett Lee 10-1-35 3 (4w,1nb)

Doug Bollinger 6-0-29-1 (2w)

Mitchell Johnson 9-0-42-1 (6w, conceded 10 runs)

John Hastings6-0-24-2 (4w)

Jason Krejza 10-0-56-1 (2w)

David Hussey3.3-0-25-2 (2w)


Shane Watson c Piyush Chawla b S Shreeshanth 33

Tim Paine c Munaf Patel b Yuvaraj Singh 37

Ricky Ponting st M S Dhoni b Harbhajan Singh 57

Michael Clarke b Piyush Chawla 0

Cameron White c R Ashwin b Piyush Chawla 4

David Hussey st Dhoni B Piyush Chawla 0

Callum Ferguson c Virat Kohli b Piyush Chawla 8

Mitchael Johnson st Dhoni b Harbhajan Singh 15

John Hastings (not out) 1

Jason Krejza lbw b Harbhajan Singh 0

Brett Lee b R Ashwin 1

Extras (3b,6lb w11) 20

Total (all out in 37.5 overs) 176

Fall of wickets: 1/51, 2/118, 3/120, 4/138, 5/138, 6/148, 7/166, 8/175, 9/175


Ashish Nehra 2-012-0

S Shreeshanth 5-0-21-1

Munaf Patel 12-0-22-0

R Ashwin 9.5-0-47-1

Piyush Chawla 9-0-31-4

Yuvraj Singh 5-0-19-1

Harbhajan Singh 5-0-15-3


© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.