Selection panels set up for Rajiv Gandhi, Arjuna, Dronacharya awards


The government today constituted two selection committees for choosing the awardees for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, the Arjuna Awards 2008, the Dronacharya Award 2008 and the Dhyan Chand Awards for Lifetime Achievements in Sports and Games 2009.

Former national table tennis women's champion Indu Puri will be the chairperson of the committee for the Rajiv Gandhi, Arjuna and Dhyan Chand awards.

The other members are K M Beenamol (athletics), Jagbir Singh (hockey), V Devarajan (hoxing), N Kunjarani Devi (weightlifting), Mohinder Amarnath (cricket), Bula Choudhury (swimming), Ram Mehar Singh (kabaddi), N Naeemuddin (football), Mohinder Lal (shooting), A K Khanna, Secretary, All India Tennis Association, Malay K Sinha, All India Police Sports Control Board, Sayan Chatterjee, Director General, Sports Authority of India, Injeti Srinivas, Joint Secretary, Sports, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, and C Chinnappa, Deputy Secretary in the Ministry, who will be the Member-Secretary.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is given to an individual sportsperson every year. It consists of a cash amount of Rs five lakh, a scroll of honour and a medal.

The Arjuna Award consists of a statuette, a scroll of honour, ceremonial dress and a cash award of Rs three lakh.

The Dhyan Chand Award consists of a plaque, a scroll of honour, ceremonial dress and a cash award of Rs three lakh.

Former athlete G S Randhawa will head the committee for the Dronacharya Award, which is given to coaches. The other members are Moraad Ali Khan (shooting), Bhuvaneswari (squash), Karnam Malleswari (weightlifting), Khazan Singh (swimming), Subash Verma (wrestling), S M Arif (badminton),

G S Sandhu (boxing), Helen Mary Innocent (hockey), M Shyam Sunder Rao (volleyball), Air Marshal (retd) Denzil Keelor, Pesident, Special Olympics Bharat, Capt U K Thapa, Secretary, Services Sports Control Board, Sayen Chatterjee of the Sports Authority of India, Mr Srinivas of the Ministry and Mr Chinappa of the Ministry who will be the Member-Secretary.

Usually, not more five Dronacharya Awards are given in a year. It consists of a plaque, a scroll of honour, ceremonial dress and a cash prize of Rs three lakh.


© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.